Among the majestic Rhodopian mountains on the bank of the River Chai is a male Bachkovsky Monastery of the Assumption of the Mother of God. Him merged together Bulgarian, Georgian and Byzantine traditions. This is one of the most visited places of Bulgaria. The Bachkovsky monastery is included in the list of 100 national wealth of the country and is the second largest and meaning after Ril.
Founded in 1083 by Georgian Sanovnik Grigory Bakuriani: several times subjected to reconstruction. The only part of the monastery preserved from that time is a two-story church with a tomb and a crypt. The church wall is a unique monument of Byzantine art.
Georgian tradition in the Bachkovsky monastery was observed until the XIII century until the Bulgarian monks began to penetrate. Communication with Georgia has persisted here and after that time.
The central church of the Blessed Virgin Mary was erected in 1604 during the Ottoman rule. Here is the miraculous icon of the Virgin "Uming". At the beginning of the XIX century, the monastery was expanded, then another church of Holy Archangels was attached, whose painting was performed by the famous artist Bulgarian Renaissance Zakhariya Zogra. The monastery has a museum with a valuable collection of icons, books and a sword of the famous King of Germany and Emperor of the Roman Empire Friedrich Barbarossa (1122 – 1190).
The monastery is located 30 kilometers south of Plovdiv. It leads a comfortable highway, which continues to the resort of Pamporovo and the city of Smolyan.